Sponsored by:

Porsche and Paint To Sample ??

Old 12-07-2005, 07:47 PM
Edgy01
Poseur
Rennlist Member

Received 228 Likes on 124 Posts
Default Porsche and Paint To Sample ??

Well,--was I in for a shock this afternoon when my salesman passed this note on to me--I had ordered a "Paint To Sample" Gulf Blue #328...

"Thank you for the color code. I've inquired about this color and regret to inform you that the factory won't be able to get you this color. In fact, any light nonmetalic color won't be possible. Is there a substitute color your customer would like?

Best regards,

Gabriele McFarland
Porsche Cars North America, Inc.
European Delivery Dept. "

Anyone ever heard anything ELSE like this from Porsche? I've been driving Porsches since 1974 and ordered in the past and NEVER had this sort of response! When you say "Paint To Sample" that means ANYTHING to me! The email is odd in that it says they can't paint ANY light non-metallics.

Dan

Cab S
98 Non-Metallic Paint to Sample (Gulf Blue)
RA Natural Leather Cocoa
CUC Painted Model Desig Rear Lid
CO2 U.S. Standard Emissions
M6C Coco Floor Mats
P01L Adaptive Sports Sts Lthr Int
V5 Brown Top
XJT Rear Ctr. Console Makassar
XLF Sport Exhaust System
XSB Sport Seat Backs in Leather
Z0997 Custom Tailoring
2493 Exterior Color to Sample
342 Heated Front Seats
407 19" Sport Design Wheel
450 Ceramic Composite Brakes-PCCB
451 Makassar Str Whl Multifctn
482 TPMS
498 Delete Model Designation
550 Hard Top
640 Sport Chrono Package Plus
680 Bose High End Sound Package
789 997 Paint to Sample
801 Makassar Package
TD5 Tourist Delivery
Old 12-07-2005, 07:51 PM
996toomey
Three Wheelin'

Received 46 Likes on 21 Posts

I would look into that further. Doesn't sound right.
Old 12-07-2005, 08:04 PM
Edgy01
Poseur
Rennlist Member

So,--they're not painting WHITE anymore (a non-metallic light color)?

Will learn more tomorrow when PCNA comes to work.

Dan
Old 12-07-2005, 08:23 PM
THPorsche
Rennlist Member

Received 35 Likes on 24 Posts