Notices
718 GTS 4.0/GT4/GT4RS/Spyder/25th Anniversary Discussions about the 718 version of the GT4RS, GTS 4.0, GT4, Spyder and 25th Anniversary Boxster
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By: Cobb

Paint correction on Chalk GT4?

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2021, 04:04 PM
Racer20
Instructor

Received 104 Likes on 48 Posts
Default Paint correction on Chalk GT4?

Does anyone have experience correcting chalk paint?

My chalk GT4 arrives this week and I’m planning my initial paint correction process now. No rush, as I won’t be able to drive it until spring anyway.

Just trying to get some idea for how hard/soft it is, what products might be best, etc. (Edit: I have plenty of experience with paint correction using a Flex 3401. Everyone paint requires a different touch, so I'm mainly asking about pads and products and techniques specific to Chalk paint.)

This is the first time I’ve let the dealer actually wash a car before delivery, since it’s winter and won’t be able to do a proper wash myself. I figure repairing some light marring is better than having the car sit in my garage with transportation grime all over it all winter.

Last edited by Racer20; 02-05-2021 at 07:00 PM.
Old 02-05-2021, 04:10 PM
pitt911
Rennlist Member

Received 941 Likes on 540 Posts

my friend had a chalk GT3 and did paint correction and it looked great
it was done by a professional .
are you asking about doing it yourself ?
Old 02-05-2021, 05:51 PM
sin911
Rennlist Member

Received 710 Likes on 432 Posts

If you're talking about doing the paint correction yourself, are you familiar with the process? Using an orbital/dual action is easier for most than a rotary machine. If you're using a rotary make sure you set it to slow speed. The only thing is to watch out for are the sharp angles (you don't want the edge of the pad to burn or damage the paint) such as door handles.