Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Magnesium case crack

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2024, 02:53 AM
rokpremuz
Cruisin'

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Magnesium case crack

Hey everyone! Looking to get some input on the severity of a crack I found on my magnesium case (middle bolt). Luckily, it's not in a position where oil might leak, and it doesn't seem "all that critical" to me, but since I'm no expert, I'd appreciate a second opinion on this, and how to fix if necessary. Everything else seems fine and the engine runs very well. Found it while taking out the alternator which died.
Thanks!

Old 03-20-2024, 01:31 PM
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 130 Likes on 83 Posts

You may want to post this over the Pelican 911 engine rebuilding forum, as there are some experts (e.g., Henry Schmidt) who are on there regularly and could give high quality advice.

My low-quality comments are: Magnesium is weldable, so my guess is that the likely way to repair is to remove the stud, grind away the cracked area, re-weld and then either thread for the stud directly or put in a Timesert. BUT, I am pretty sure this is only feasible with the case disassembled and would likely also require the case to be refaced, mains align bored etc. Basically all the stuff that would be done during a comprehensive rebuild (where all the "usual" mag case machine work in done). Since your engine is running well, the best advice may be to leave it, but monitor it for now and hopefully defer it to the time when you do want to do a rebuild anyway.

Take that with a grain of salt though. I know welding, and I have rebuilt an aluminum-case 911 engine (much easier than mag case I think), so I know a little more than nothing, but well short of actual experts.
Old 03-20-2024, 09:53 PM
wildcat077
Drifting

Received 190 Likes on 163 Posts

Is it cracked or just delaminated from corrosion ?