Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Radio Shuts Off Under power

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2010, 09:46 PM
talane
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Radio Shuts Off Under power

Wierdest thing...I had a stereo professionally installed and this is what occurs. The radio will shut off when I add power or shift. It will come back on when I have the clutch in or take it out of gear (basically idling). It shuts back off when I release the clutch and add power. The stereo dealer and I are baffeled. I suspect it has something to do with the voltage regulator but I am no expert by any means. What do you guys think.
Old 05-23-2010, 10:25 PM
pingman
Advanced

I have an '87 911 that had similar issues. I professionally installed mine, (yeah right), but after hitting a bump the radio, (cd), would quit. I thought the removeable faceplate was the reason, certainly not my installation. Saw a tech hint in bently about fuse blocks causing wierd things to happen to circuits. Replaced the fuse block, (20 bucks?), only six wires if I remember, no more radio problems. And to think I damn near broke a brand new radio working on the faceplate! Hope this helps, Mark
Old 05-24-2010, 12:15 AM
User 4221
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 47 Likes on 29 Posts

This could be a voltage regulator. Check the voltage on the battery while revving the engine. If it goes over 14.5V then the VR is suspect.

If the VR is failed it should reach ~16 or 17 volts.

Don't drive the car in this condition or you could damage other electronics.
Old 05-24-2010, 06:26 PM
Jim @ EuroWerks
Burning Brakes

Ditto on the voltage regulator. Even if it's not the problem make sure the car isn't overcharging when hot. Hook a volt meter to the cigar lighter and drive. They usually act up more when the engine is smokin' hot at rpm. I've seen them go as high as 18v.
Old 05-24-2010, 09:32 PM
theiceman
Team Owner

Received 1,044 Likes on 743 Posts

Maybe Scotie is diverting all power to the engine ?