Rust - How much should I worry

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2014, 07:05 PM
kkothand
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Rust - How much should I worry

Hi everyone,

happened to find some rest on the driver's side fender near the trunk lid (Pictures attached). The car is otherwise clean so I was a bit surprised and disappointed since the other minor areas are all surface rusts, but his one bothers me.

Any ideas on what to do next. I have zero body and paint experience, but if this is something a DIY can do I can follow instructions.
Attached Images   
Old 04-20-2014, 07:32 PM
Reiver
Drifting

Received 115 Likes on 76 Posts

You won't know until you pull the rubber and look. It 'appears' to be a small area and therefore minor but it also looks as if it has bubbled up (not minor) so get busy and look around.
If it is a small area then clean it down to bare metal and POR it except for the exposed part and do a bit of paint touch up there.
Old 04-20-2014, 09:34 PM
redridge
Nordschleife Master

Received 61 Likes on 48 Posts

+1 ^^^... take the seal off... remove the rust as much as you can. If you dont want to go crazy with it.... look into POR15 (black) anti rust products... that should slow it down some.
Old 04-21-2014, 09:54 AM
kkothand
Intermediate

Thanks Guys. I will get started on this as a first priority. Hope this is a minor problem, rather than a surprise deep down into the fender. Not having done any body work, is the weather strip simply pulled off, or do I need special tools? Any special precautions I should take while doing this?
Old 04-21-2014, 11:03 AM
theiceman
Team Owner

Received 1,049 Likes on 746 Posts