1977 911s, HELP

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2003, 03:11 AM
Nikita
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 1977 911s, HELP

Hi,
I have two broad questions, any suggestions are really appreciated.
I recently picked up a '77 911s. The engine has been rebuilt and the '77 2.7L problems have been fixed.

1. Obviously I want to get more HP out of my Porsche. I would like to hear people's opinions about either modifying the 2.7 (is it really worth the effort), or putting in a new engine (what gives the most bank for the buck).

2. When I slam the car into gear, I hear grinding, mostly in second and third. If I switch gears gently, everything is fine. Have any of you had similar problems? Am I looking at a 915 rebuild or new bushings and some swepco?

Any suggestions are appreciated. Please share your experience, anything will help, since I am new to the world of Porsche.

Thanks
Nikita
Old 08-24-2003, 03:30 AM
Steve Weiner-Rennsport Systems
RL Technical Advisor

Received 64 Likes on 48 Posts

Hi Nikita:

The very first I will tell you is NOT to "slam" the car into gear. Porsche transmissions are not designed for this treatment and your pocketbook will be the worse for doing so,....

Just shift it gently and it lasts a very long time. I'd venture that your syncros are somewhat worn and rushing them will only beat up the gears,... Use the Swepco # 201 tranny lube and you'll be happier. If its still grinding, then its time for an overhaul.

These engines run very well when all the 2.7 issues are addressed, but any CIS engine is not easy modifyable unless many things are changed and I'd suggest a 3.2 or 3.6 if you want a better power-to-weight ratio.

I'd suggest that you upgrade the suspension before you do anything else as thats the biggest bang-for-the-buck in overall performance.

You should first decide on what you want the car to do, before you spend a dime. Planning is paramount to avoid wasting money and doing things twice.
Old 08-24-2003, 03:48 AM
hoffman912