Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Porsche 944 Idles

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2022, 02:05 PM
enatera214
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Porsche 944 Idles

Hello everyone, I’m new to the Porsche 944.

I bought this 83’ 944 a couple weeks back. I replaced radiator hoses, distributer cap and rotor, spark plugs, speed/reference sensors, and a cracked vacuum hose under the intake. The car idles now, but barely. I don’t think it’s running on all its cylinders. Fuel pressure, compression and spark is all good. Starting fluid just stalls the car out. As you can see in the video, when I fully depress the gas pedal, not much happens, the rpm’s don’t increase, but the shaking becomes harder. I’m kind of stuck here and not sure where to go at this point. Any help is much appreciated, I can’t wait to get the car back on the road. From what I was told, it’s been sitting since 2014.

https://youtu.be/9olTan5BlF8
Old 08-19-2022, 04:28 PM
Dr. 914
Premium Dealer
Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 176 Likes on 124 Posts

make sure you have the firing order correct then pull one spark lead at a time from the distributor cap to make sure all make a decided difference. If one does not then that is the suspected cylinder
also make sure that you do not have any intake leaks
Old 08-19-2022, 05:29 PM
Gage
Rennlist Member

Received 331 Likes on 268 Posts

Some of the injectors are likely plugged, stuck closed or not receiving signal to open.
Old 08-19-2022, 07:36 PM
enatera214
8th Gear

Originally Posted by Dr. 914
make sure you have the firing order correct then pull one spark lead at a time from the distributor cap to make sure all make a decided difference. If one does not then that is the suspected cylinder
also make sure that you do not have any intake leaks
Originally Posted by Gage