Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

belts and water pump HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2006, 12:17 AM
gotbenz
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default belts and water pump HELP!

hey i'm new to the porsche belts and water pump. I tryed to put it off until i saw a small drip comming from behind the plastic cover! So i psyched myself up only to get shot down. How far do i have to go to get the water pump off besides removing the belts?
Where are the three tensioner bolts?
Does the rear cover have to be removed completely?

*i've got the radiator out, fans out, balancer belt off, timing belt almost off(caught on the tensioner)

1988 924S
1980 Goldwing 1100
1976 Goldwing with 1100 upgrade
1972 Mercedes 250C
Old 12-31-2006, 02:01 AM
Techno Duck
Nordschleife Master

Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts

http://www.clarks-garage.com/shop-manual/eng-05.htm

Your '88 924S has the spring tensioner i assume. The 3 nuts are kind of hidden from view but if you have the radiator out you can probably see them with a well angled mirror. There are two along the top and one along the bottom.

You will need to set the car at TDC and need to put in a flywheel lock. You then need to remove the 24mm bolt holding the pullies onto the crank shaft (this requires a 24mm deep socket and ALOT of leverage). The power steering and alternator belt pullies should come right off. The balance shaft and timing belt gears will probably require a gear puller. After those gears are removed, you can remove the rear timing cover (Which must be removed to get at the waterpump).
Old 12-31-2006, 10:26 AM
chrly924s
Three Wheelin'

Received 1 Like on 1 Post