Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

944s and rust

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2011, 05:46 PM
dogwoodlover
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 944s and rust

Hello,

I'm new to Rennlist. I decided some time ago that I was bent on getting a 944, and when I sold my car a month ago a friend of mine who is a proud 944 owner and Rennlist member recommended I sign up here. So far, I've gleaned quite a bit from the board.

I've been waiting on "The Right 944." Seen a ton of them, missed several great opportunities and passed on many bad ones. I've kind of been scouring all over, because it seems that if you're both picky and broke, it's unlikely that you'll be able to find the right 944 (that isn't a fixer-upper) that you can actually afford without going outside of your immediate vicinity.

I've found a 944 out in the Great Lakes region that I'm very interested. The condition and price are both very promising. However, I am a bit concerned about the issue of rust, as I often hear people make a great deal out of the rust factor regarding automobiles from that area. I understand that much of the 944s are made of galvanized steel, but obviously not all of the car is. Am I going to have to go through and replace 10,000 little nuts and bolts on the car when **** starts falling off? I would appreciate the advice/wisdom of anyone who's had experience with this or knows a thing or two about Porsches coming from this region.

Thanks,

- Josiah
Old 08-25-2011, 05:50 PM
DarylJ
Rennlist Member

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts

I've got ont that spent it's whole life in SE PA. So we have plenty of salt and rust here too.

Mine has been pretty decent as far as that goes. If you do see any body rust, be very concerned because it probably means that it got hit and poorly repaired.