Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1985.5 944 N/A... 900 bucks.

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2012, 02:41 AM
syntxerr
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1985.5 944 N/A... 900 bucks.

Hey guys, I'm new here, might be a regular user someday, who knows. I found a 944 for $900 on Craigslist, and it seems like an okay deal. I'd offer him less than that, of course. I'll go take a look at it on Saturday, but all I know this far is that it won't start without starter fluid and that the interior "needs work." Looks like the exterior does as well... Anyway, I didn't talk to the seller for long, since I was in a hurry at the time, but I told him I'd come over to take a look this weekend. I'm just a college student looking for a decent project car to mess around with on the weekends, so I'm not expecting anything amazing. I'm hoping a little work to the fuel delivery system (filter, pump, maybe injectors) will get things running again, but other than that I just want to know of a few things I should specifically look for with a 944 when I go to see it this weekend.

So, whadya think?

Old 05-24-2012, 07:01 AM
FRporscheman
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 20 Likes on 15 Posts

This site is like the unofficial workshop manual, a priceless resource:
http://www.clarks-garage.com/shop-ma...ure-index3.htm

Here's a 944 buyer's guide:
http://www.pelicanparts.com/techarti...yers_guide.htm

And, you already found the best Porsche forum (especially for 944s), so come back with any questions you have and someone will help. I learned how to work on cars on a 944 - they're easy to understand most of the time, and fun to fix and to drive.