Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

944 engine pull

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2013, 04:11 PM
recondoc
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 944 engine pull

So, I have a '88 944 Turbo. Today the alternator died. And there is a rear main seal leak, valve cover leak, oil pan leak and radiator leak. At this point, I am thinking the easiet thing to do is to pull the engine and replace all the seals, fix what is wrong, plus any other found issues and put the engine back in the car.
I am no mechanic. I can usually figure stuff out given enough time and determination.
Is that the best thing to do is just pull the engine? How hard is it to pull the engine on a 944? Should an novice even attempt this or am I delusional?
Any advice would be appreciated.
Old 01-24-2013, 04:29 PM
krystar
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

are you a gear head or very mechanically inclined? if you're not...don't try to pull engine yourself.

everyone was a novice at one time. but u need quite a bit of gearhead in you to go thru pulling an engine. you'll need tools at the very least. and since you're a novice, you should plan at least one maybe even two full weekends to this.
Old 01-24-2013, 05:14 PM
Arominus
Race Car

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Don't pull the motor, none of these things require it. The turbo has no valve cover, just the cam box and that's easy to do up top. The pan requires removing the crossmember but is still much easier than pulling the engine.
Old 01-24-2013, 05:19 PM
Fara
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

As Arominus states above, it depends on your level of skill.

Technically, none of the jobs you need to do require pulling the engine.
If your mechanically minded, pulling the engine makes the jobs you need to do easier, however they can still be done from below and will require less speciality tools.