Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What spacers to use on my 944?

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2016, 04:33 PM
fristajlo
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What spacers to use on my 944?

Hi guys!
New here on this great forum! Been lurking for some time before I finally bought my own 944 85.5 N/A. It's a bit of a project, but it was priced accordingly
I'm planning to replace the origina wheels for a bit bigger ones. As I'm new to Porsche and to spacers generally, I thought I could ask for some pointers here. I've used the search function but didn't find what I'm looking for. I have the early offset, 23, and I've found a set of Azev wheels that would look great on my car. The fronts are 8x17" 225/45 and the rear ones are 9,5x17" 255/40. Offset is 50 on both. How should I think when choosing spacers for this setup? I have a very hard time figuring this out with regards to any clearance issues because of the wider tires. But I would like to have the wheels a bit further out than the originals too. I'm guessing the best way is to buy the wheels in question and try them on, but the car is stored quite far away from where I live.
Any tips and suggestions are more than welcome!
Old 08-26-2016, 09:44 PM
bumflick
Racer

Default Spacers

I just went through this on my 86 951.

short answer, 3/4 inch on the rear. I converted my front hubs to late offset, so can't help there.

I'm running 275/40-17, so a bit wider than you. No rubbing inside or outside. And from a look, or 'stance' perspective, they could be pushed out another 3mm closer to the fender and still not rub, but I'm fine with the look as is.

Note: you may need longer wheel studs in order for wheel and spacer to bolt up. I did. Van has a cool video of how to swap the studs.

Malcolm
Old 08-27-2016, 03:43 AM
924srr27l
Burning Brakes

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts