944 & 944S Forum 1982-1991

Introduction and my 944S

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2022, 09:34 AM
DonaldBuswell
Racer

Received 42 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Introduction and my 944S

Hi friends, I'm over on the 928 side most of the time and discovered this 944 forum here on RL, doh, I know, silly! I found my 87 944S down abandoned at Dinsdale Pirhana's place in Port Lavaca as the owner said F it over 8 years ago, and Jeff was tired of looking at it and called me up to come haul it away. Well, you can't actually steal a car...Jeff had no mechanics lein on it so I found the owner, send him a letter offering to buy it, he accepted my offer of 200 bucks but wanted 200 more so we arranged a meet time and he showed up with Title in hand and off I went and am in my 944S rebuild.

I am a professional media blaster and own a small company specializing in this and have done several top end jobs for the 928 folks and they all are happy campers. As I remove parts I blast them and prepare them for future utilization, the Cam cover and Phone dials are all done and nearly done respectively. The car is fully complete and no hacking or modifying was done at all, it has just 64k miles, and the car is a 5 speed Guards Red w black interior, with no LSD rear end. It has spark, Leak Down test is inconclusive as the motor is cold. Motor mounts are toast, and there is evidence of a massive oil leak on the front passenger side of the motor. I am debating whether to do a full body-off like I did my 928's but space right now is very tight and limited, The battery tray is toast and the rot went and destroyed a segment of the right inner wheel well too, which I am repairing.