Honestly, 944 worth buying?

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2011, 11:14 PM
bp944
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Honestly, 944 worth buying?

Hello,
So here's my premise. I am a college student with a very small budget and an expensive taste in cars. For the longest time I've been trying to save up for my dream project which is to put a 500hp ls1 in a 944. The idea being that I wouldn't have to bother with the problems I've heard the 944 engine has and get cheap horsepower. Unfortunately, being a college kid and all, money gets harder to come by.
My question is this: How much money will it take to get a working 944 that won't be a fortune to upkeep and repair? Is this even feasible? I figure I can get the 944 and just work on the body and the car itself. Then I can drop the ls1 in when I have the money to afford the conversion kit. I would love to hear any opinions or other options I would have.

Thanks,
Ben
Old 03-20-2011, 11:56 PM
john durdin
Advanced

THEY ARE EXPENSIVE , WAIT UNTILL YOU HAVE GOOD FULLTIME JOB ,YOU WILL BE A LOT BETTER OFF . JOHN
Old 03-21-2011, 01:00 PM
pnbell
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Yup, Any Old Sports Car will take up all your FreeTime and Free Money (if you have no Free Money; you will wake up a year later paying 18% interest on several thousand dollars in Credit Card Debt...)

These are Not the answers you wanted: So with that said:

If you have Tools, Jack/Jack Stands, Can Work on Cars/Not afraid to Learn, and Have a Place Where you can tear a car apart... Don't let us stop you... I'm 29 and wouldn't mind seeing more young guys appreciate actual sports cars, not Loud Honda's, or "pimp" Grand Prix's...

If you do Get a 944, be very careful with what you buy. Do not Buy a car without maintenance records. Spend all you time, on this website! Not sure where you live but there are probably people in you area that will help you find a decent 944. A Decent 944na with few issues will be $5,000