Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

The story about the cursed 951

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2020, 12:43 PM
Floofz
Track Day

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default The story about the cursed 951

I havent written on this account on this forum before, I used to write a lot a few years ago but I dont even think that account is still around. Either way I might aswell give you guys a bit of a background story here before we get to the actual problem. I am a professional Mercedes mechanic and Ive been a tech for around 15 years but Ive been around cars for the past 25. I bought my first 944 Turbo in 2009 and since then Ive had 5 944s, two turbos, one S2 and 2 N/A 163 hp so I know them inside out, Ive done pretty much everything thats possible to do on these cars, Ive raced them, Ive dailied them and Ive replaced or repaired every nut and bolt in these cars.
3 years ago however I bought the car that killed all my interest in Porsche and planted the seed to an evergrowing hatred for the brand and these cars. A 1988 Turbo (not an S). Its in beautiful condition, very low miles with a full servicehistory, all original except for the wheels.
I managed to buy it from a friend for fairly cheap because it had a boost issue that he couldnt fix. He spent so many hours and so much money on this one issue that he got so fed up with it that he sold it to me for a good price. Great I thought, I took it home and went throu it. Found a leak in the wastegate which caused it to overboost and cut ignitiontiming. Changed it to a stock wastegate and it ran fine, albeit a bit slower but it ran as it should (or atleast somewhat).