Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Are there Stock AFM Performance Modifications

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2014, 03:41 PM
TheAllusionist
Racer

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Are there Stock AFM Performance Modifications

This is probably a dumb question, but you can just call me "Dummy" if you have a good answer!

I am trying to keep my 1986 951 as stock looking as possible and parts I put on ones that where available options (more or less) due to the low mileage of my car. I am just getting into the performance tweaking so excuse any stupidity on my part.

My question is: Can you modify the stock AFM to accommodate more than 320 HP? Are there shops that port and polish for example, or make mods so that the car looks original but breaths better?

I know there are many parts to the equation, I plan on getting a K26/8 and having it rebuilt with modern parts, I am told that could top out at around 350 RWHP, if all things are right. I have been stock piling performance parts: 3 bar adjustable pressure reg, 55# Fuel Injectors, LR dual port wastegate, manual boost controller, boost and a/f meters.... I plan on looking into modified intercooler and A-Tune, but perhaps that is all overkill for this application.

In the end I just want to have my car appear stock but get the most performance out as I can while respecting the low mileage vehicle, with all that said from reading the forums it sounds like the stock AFM will probably be the limiting factor and I don't want some big MAF setup under the hood and as far as I know Vittesse is the only one making a stealth one and that seems like more modifications than I want to do on this car. I just thought maybe there were performance modifications that could be made to the stock AFM and wanted to know what they are and who does them? Thanks for your time.
Old 07-25-2014, 03:54 PM
kevincnc
Three Wheelin'

Received 1 Like on 1 Post