Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help Spec my Cayman S

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2005, 11:48 PM
djb_rh
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help Spec my Cayman S

(Posted this on Pelican, but then realized this was probably a better place. Duh.)

So I've had my money in for a while and my dealer says it is time to order. Should have a November build with arrival in the states on Jan 15.

My background: I've been driving competitively for three years now. All three of it I have been competing in Solo2 nationally (two years in a CS Toyota Spyder and one year in a CS Miata, but I've also done a few events in an AS STi and a CSP Spyder). I also have a Spec Miata and have done a good bit of road racing in it. Have seat time at VIR, CMP, and Road Atlanta (love endurance racing...did the 8 hour at VIR two years ago, the 13 hour at VIR last year, and this year am teaming up with Brian Smith and Jason Saini in the 13 hour). Street cars I've owned include a 996TT, E46 M3 Convertible, M-Roadster, and I currently have several Miatas, an STi, and an '87 911.

Anyway, I want a pretty much no compromises Cayman. I will likely at least do some DEs in it and will definitely autocross it at least *some*, even if it doesn't end up competitively classed. High performance, low weight. So, here's my list:

G1 Guards Red
AN Black Standard Leather
AP Black Sport Seats
P77 Leather Sport Seats
XSX Seat Belts - Guards Red
(I'm sure these weigh the same as black.)
450 PCCB
475 PASM
498 Delete Model Designation
573 Automatic Climate Control
580 Rear Luggage Partition
(This is removable, right?)
P74 Bi-Xenon Headlamp Package
XCZ Sport Shifter
XRP 5mm Wheel Spacers
435 Sport Steering Wheel

Questions I have are:

Are the Bi-Xenons much heavier than normal headlights?
Is automatic climate control worth the extra weight? It can't be more than a couple pounds, I would guess (if that).