Sponsored by:

PPF Thoughts?

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2021, 12:34 AM
smellycat
Instructor

Received 127 Likes on 55 Posts
Default PPF Thoughts?

Excited that I got a winged allocation and I have been thinking through PPF. I made a mistake on my GTS and didn't PPF the rear quarter panel - wont make that mistake again. I am, though, debating how to handle the front and rear end plastic pieces. There is enough plastic 'sticking out' that I worry about it getting beaten up by road stuffs. Any thoughts on applying PPF to plastic? What parts of are you planning to PPF?
Old 03-30-2021, 01:58 AM
Shockwave93
Intermediate

Received 57 Likes on 19 Posts

I'm new to Porsche (hoping for the 992 GT3 to be my first one), but I plan on PPF-ing at least the front half of the car, Interesting that you mention about the rear quarter. Kind of makes me want to just do the whole thing.

Regarding the plastic though, it's pretty cheap to replace (a 991 front lip is $215 on Suncoast), so I would say skip it for the plastic bits and just replace them if they get worn. Also, the plastic bits won't have the right sheen if you wrap them with PPF.
Old 03-30-2021, 06:47 AM
motorwerksgroup
Burning Brakes

Received 393 Likes on 210 Posts

I did the rear quarters on my 991.2 GT3. I will do it again. Actually I did the whole car except the rear bumper and underside of the rear spoiler.
Old 03-30-2021, 08:16 AM
911dev
Drifting

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts