Sponsored by: Porsche San Francisco

Battery

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2021, 01:42 PM
JuanilloTurboS
Advanced

Received 37 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Battery

So after being apart for one full week without movement I go to start it this morning battery’s dead. Does have the key fob in the car affect battery drainage?
It sat for 6 days.

Last edited by JuanilloTurboS; 03-27-2021 at 01:53 PM.
Old 03-27-2021, 02:26 PM
ER911S
Pro

Received 222 Likes on 132 Posts

Yikes, this makes no sense and I don't think it's normal. I hope others chime in but I hope it's a simple fix.
Old 03-27-2021, 02:39 PM
JeanLouis33
Racer

Received 328 Likes on 91 Posts

This is incomprehensible, unless something did remain on... I am irritated by the fact that every time you walk past it, it unlocks all by itself. I never left the key inside the car, so I have no experience of
this problem, but these cars ar NEW ! So are their batteries... it seems very unlikely that it emptied itself in such a short time, unless something was turned on, somewhere. The guarantee is running, call
the Porsche Centre so they come and collect it !
Old 03-27-2021, 02:47 PM
Tom M'Guinn

Rennlist Member

Received 533 Likes on 287 Posts

Sorry about that! I went through this with my car after getting PPF done. These cars have a lithium battery with a low-power shut off function. When the power drops below a certain level, the battery essentially disconnects itself from the car, so that you get zero power. The good news is that the battery isn't really dead. It just needs to be turned back on (for lack of better explanation) and it should still have enough juice to start the car and get recharged by the charging system.