Sponsored by:

New Base 992 Carrera Owner: Winter wheel set

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2024, 12:45 PM
bizzakka
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Base 992 Carrera Owner: Winter wheel set

I bought a 2022 CPO (base) C2 992 last week. I live in northern NJ, within about 30 minutes from NYC. It gets cold and sometimes snowy here.

It came with 20/21in Turbo wheels, with Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric tires, which are fairly new. The car has regular brakes as far as I know (not ceramic) - they certainly did not say ceramic on the spec sheet.

I have never owned a 911, nor even any Porsche, before. I am loving this car, and I want to drive it!

The Goodyears are summer tires and looking at them on TireRack I see that it is not recommended to drive, or even store, them at near 0 temperatures. Our BMW X3 runs on all-season tires all year round, so I am new to this.

I am wondering if I should buy the 19/20in Winter Wheel Set, and install it myself. I would have to buy a jack, jack stands, a torque wrench, a bar and perhaps jack pucks as well - I have never actually changed wheels on any car myself earlier. I could also just get them installed by a local mechanic.

1. Will this set fit my car?
2. Would you recommend buying it for around $5k?
3. Should I attempt installation at home and what should I buy for that?
Old 02-02-2024, 12:52 PM
Richard_Wallace
Rennlist Member

Received 1,566 Likes on 722 Posts

So yes, that is the set you would want for your 992 C2...

I also run winters on my targa 4S (same exact tires btw) - and swap them out in winter and then back in spring. I have all the tools, lifts, etc. in my garage (takes me about 1 hour) for the swap. Pretty easy DYI.

However, What I would do if I were you, since you don't have all the tools/gear, and are somewhat new to changing it out. Go to your dealer, and show them the best price you can get on the winter set from sun coast or wherever. They usually will match the price.