Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

What machine polish compound are you using?

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2018, 11:28 AM
Meenrod
Burning Brakes

Received 237 Likes on 149 Posts
Default What machine polish compound are you using?

I have swirl marks and light scuffs from cleaning on my black now 24 year old paint. It seems to me to be quite soft compared to modern paints. It is a 2 or 3 stage process that Porsche used- is there a clearcoat layer?

Anyway, I am going to use a dual action orbital machine polisher to restore it and I'm wonder what machine polish you all use. I have been looking at Grigot's no.3, but I think it's out of production now. Any better suggestions? I'm pretty new to this having recently purchased the DA machine.

Thanks, Meenrod
Old 11-27-2018, 11:44 AM
Cowhorn
Rennlist Member

Received 13 Likes on 6 Posts

Porter Cable random orbital polisher (old school but still works great), 5" microfiber or foam polishing (not cutting) pads, Menzerna SIP for swirls. Menzerna PO 85 RD for fine polish. Sonax Polymer Net Shield sealant. All products available at Detailer's Domain (Rennlist sponsor).
Old 11-27-2018, 11:48 AM
P-daddy
Rennlist Member

Received 447 Likes on 271 Posts

If you like Griots I’d skip Machine Polish 3 if you have mild to moderate swirl marks. They recently came out with a new polishing compound in a yellow container. I can’t recall actual name right now.
Old 11-27-2018, 12:04 PM
Meenrod
Burning Brakes

I have no feelings about Grigot's - they came up in my Google search. Are their products okay?
Old 11-27-2018, 12:05 PM
Meenrod
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by Cowhorn
Porter Cable random orbital polisher (old school but still works great), 5" microfiber or foam polishing (not cutting) pads, Menzerna SIP for swirls. Menzerna PO 85 RD for fine polish. Sonax Polymer Net Shield sealant. All products available at Detailer's Domain (Rennlist sponsor).
I'll check out Menzerna thanks .