Sponsored by: DashLynx

Suspension refresh/upgrade planning/documenting thread

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2020, 03:06 PM
wallyman424
Instructor

Received 72 Likes on 39 Posts
Default Suspension refresh/upgrade planning/documenting thread

Hey all, I'd like to seek some input for my upcoming suspension refresh/upgrade plans. First this car is completely a fun, fair weather toy. I may take it to work once in a while, but its not my daily driver. At this point I don't have any plans to track it. I have many years of wheel to wheel racing experience under my belt, and have successfully kept my distance from that addiction. My goals are to make the car feel as connected to the road with direct steering input as possible. I'm not very concerned with NVH. Here are my tentative plans, please feel free to provide input. FYI I realize a lot of this is overkill for a street car.

Steering:
- Bushings/ rack mount reinforcement
- ER bump steer tie rods

Sway bars:
- Was going to leave stock sways in place.
- Adjustable drop links

Coilovers:
PSS10

Camber plates (would like some input here):
Elephant racing
ERP
Ground Control (These look interesting as they have built in caster adjustment. I don't see that many folks are using them here)

Front bushings, from my assessment, the ball joint boots are worn and the bushings are worn as well, I can see some cracking and there is more play than there should be when tested with the pry bar
- New ball joints
- Elephant racing monoballs (I like that these are weathersealed)

Rear bushings/arms, Rear control arm monoball and ball joints seem ok on inspection. I'll have to take it all apart to know for sure:
This is the section where I have less clarity.
Option 1
- RS bushings all around
- Rennline or other adjustable toe link with lockout plate

Option 2:
- ER Monoballs all around
- Adjustable toe link with lockout

Option 3
- Monoball for Lower control arm
- Adjustable camber, KT and toe link