Sponsored by: DashLynx

Battery trouble

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2009, 02:34 PM
sadasdas
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Battery trouble

Hello, I am a newbie and I own a 1997 993 it is the third time my battery drains out. It takes about 6 days to drain out. I was wondering if anyone has had this problem or knows where the problem could be coming from.
Old 08-22-2009, 04:09 PM
Steve Weiner-Rennsport Systems
RL Technical Advisor

Received 64 Likes on 48 Posts

Benny,

Assuming that the battery is in good shape to being with (less than 4 years old) and the alternator/voltage regulator are both functioning properly (you didn't say how many miles are on your new car), I would begin by measuring current draws at the battery and removing fuses, replacing one at a time, to find the culprit.
Old 08-22-2009, 05:51 PM
troos
Advanced

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You're not leaving the key in the ignition, are you.
Old 08-22-2009, 05:57 PM
NC TRACKRAT
Rennlist Member

Received 434 Likes on 272 Posts

Steve's right. Usually, the biggest (and simplest) culprits are the trunk, rear deck or glove compartment light. Try this to check: Rig up a 12v. test light with long leads and small alligator clips on the ends. Remove your trunk light bulb and clip a lead to each contact so that your test light is on. Close the trunk lid with the test light on the outside and wait a few minutes for the light to go out. If it doesn't, you need to adjust the switch contact which is a part of the latch assembly.
Old 08-22-2009, 06:04 PM
NP993
Rennlist Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

If you have an aftermarket stereo or alarm system, and none of the other stuff checks out, that's the next place to look...
Old 08-22-2009, 08:46 PM
Arena993
Race Car

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

Originally Posted by NC TRACKRAT