ERP Sport Bushings for Rear Suspension

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2011, 11:38 PM
Jeff96-993
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default ERP Sport Bushings for Rear Suspension

I've been chasing a rear suspension "mushiness" for a few years. Replaced the shocks/springs/swaybars many years ago, didn't fix it. Replaced my toe links with Tarret's two years ago, no help. Did the pinned fwd tie rods ( thanks Garth! ) a year ago or so since I thought maybe I was imagining things at the back. No help.

Finally replaced the rear link-arm bushings with the ERP sport bushings over the weekend. I used the post by bobesser for DIY guidance, plenty of good instructions and pictures there. I ordered 8 of them, but only needed 6 since the Tarret toe links negated the need for the last two. At $50 apiece, the two remaining are just sitting on my work bench. Make an offer, lol.

Test drove it today... WOW... it's gone. Not just better, it's gone. I can't wait to get the car back on the track for a full assessment.

An interesting observation... the new bushings weighed twice as much as the old. The rubber in them is that much more dense. The result, no sway, no sponginess, I'm a very happy believer.

Took me two days to get all 6 replaced, mainly because I had to custom make a couple of tools to use for the press out/in process. Basically I faced off one socket that was the exact same size as the bushing (had to go to two stores before I finally found a brand with the exact OD as the bushing). I can post pics of the process and tools if anyone is interested. You can do it all with a 6" vise. Of course all the crafted tools are available to other interested Rennlisters. It's a very worthwhile upgrade, at least for me. I'm much more happy with the car.

Last edited by Jeff96-993; 05-24-2011 at 11:08 PM.
Old 05-27-2011, 05:31 PM
Jeff96-993
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Tools and process:

The nose on the bushings make it more difficult.