Sponsored by: DashLynx

Suggestions for Heal/Toe Shifting

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2012, 02:26 PM
irish89rmf
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suggestions for Heal/Toe Shifting

I had my first experience at the track on Monday and Tuesday at a Trackmasters event at Watkins Glen. What a blast.

I have never done a heal/toe shift before and my instructor said it would be very beneficial to learn. I tried a few times at the track and have even tried a few times on some empty roads, but I can't seem to make it work. The difference in height between the accelerator and brake makes it very difficult to blip the gas on a downshift.

Any suggestions, thoughts or ideas. Thanks.

Bob

1995 C2
Old 08-30-2012, 02:57 PM
jscott82
Rennlist Member

Received 363 Likes on 238 Posts

Heel-toe is no different than throwing a ball or riding a bike... Its all muscle memory and repetition, do it 10,000 times and you will have it down pat... I don't know any shortcut... Place to learn is on the street not the track though. Try it in secluded place until you start getting the hang of it, then force yourself to do it every time you downshift (no matter how bad you f it up)… After a couple of months you will have it.

The pedals on a 993 are perfect when under HARD breaking (where you really use it) so I'm not a big fan of changing the height. What may help though is adding a little width to the accelerator. You can buy the fancy winged pedals or simply add an aluminum plate slightly wider at the top. Be warned that it makes it very easy to catch the brake and accel at the same time by accident (ask me how I know).

It worth mentioning, unless you have really small feet, its more "ball of foot / pinky toe" than "heal/toe"...
Old 08-30-2012, 03:09 PM
David in Chicago
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts