Sponsored by:

Help with large oil leak from Left turbo

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2019, 04:49 PM
andrewjn
Rennlist Member

Received 35 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Help with large oil leak from Left turbo

This is my first time posting at the turbo forum and i'm hoping for some good advice/insight into imminent repairs needed on my 97 turbo. I'll start by saying that I've owned this car since 2005 and it has a tick over 24000 miles on the clock. Im NO mechanic. I very rarely drive the car any longer and it sits on a lift above one of my other cars (life sometimes gets in the way guys). Sadly its been in storage essentially for over a year. (BTW i'm not looking for comments on my lack of use of the car..I know...so please just positive comments)

I went to get the car out last week and noticed a pool of oil (maybe 1/4 liter). Tried to start the car...smoke, blowing oil out of left exhaust pipe (literally unburnt oil), and check engine light going off. Rather than driving and doing an damage (duh) i trucked the car to my local shop. After looking at the car (initially) they recommend rebuilding the Left turbo (and the right). This car has been mostly trouble free. I've done regular maintenance and never had any major leak. It was doing this same thing 2 years ago (although not nearly as bad) around 10/17 and nothing was needed (cleaned up, oil change, rec possible check valve upgrade and/or turbo rebuild, oil return driver side tightened fitting). 11/14 the left side valve cover was replaced.