1999 996 convertible top issues

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2020, 09:21 PM
DetroitMatt
Track Day

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 1999 996 convertible top issues

Hi everyone,

This is my first post as I just purchased a new to me 1999 Carrera Cabriolet. It’s my first 911, so lots to learn here as I get it sorted. I have a clutch kit, LN IMSB and RMS on it’s way, but in the mean time, the convertible top is giving me grief and I could use some help here. I’m a pretty good mechanic, but convertible tops feel like sorcery to me. So many moving parts!

So when I picked the car up, the top was not working. It would almost want to open but just couldn’t quite make it. The back deck lid would come within inches of completing the cycle, but would get stuck there. It did close the opposite way thankfully, so I left the roof up until I was able to take it to my local independent Porsche shop to look at it. They fixed a stuck flap on one side and recalibrated the tip and $298 later it works now... sort of.

I normally have to open and close it a few times and after an attempt or two it does finally open or close as intended. It just takes a few tries, so it still isn’t working perfectly yet, although better.

I’m noticing three main issues:

1. When it’s closing, sometimes it gets into this repetitive cycle where the “hook” in the center tries to finish the motion over and over again without actually closing. I know it’s not done because the windows fail to roll up. And it’s also out of alignment I think as it sometimes scratches the aluminum anchor at the top of windshield (photo attached). This is leaving deep score marks and has me concerned.