Sponsored by:

1999 carrera 996 front electronic fans

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2021, 07:36 AM
Mike1999
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1999 carrera 996 front electronic fans

Question about 1999 Porsche 911 carrera 996. I am new to Porsche ownership and mine has a switch under the dash that turns on the front fans. I can't find any information about the operation of the fans or why someone would put in a switch. Should I be driving with the fan always on?
Old 02-06-2021, 08:21 AM
cdk4219
Rennlist Member

Received 327 Likes on 230 Posts

The fans have 2 speeds low and high, with a separate relay for each speed and each side fan, four relays total. The fan motor has a resistor close to each fan that reduces the voltage to the fan, effectively slowing the fan motor, that’s low speed, High speed is direct 12v through the.high speed relay to each fan.

The relays are triggered by the sending a ground from the ecu at either a certain temperature or when the A/C is running. Sounds like someone has put a switch to ground to the low or high relay to bypass the ecu, hopefully the ecu is still turning the fans on as well.

It could be that the low speed resistor may have failed in one or both fan motors,which is common, causing the initial cooling not to run, maybe someone then jumped the high speed relay to manually control the fan. The 996 temp gauge is not accurate and always seems to stay at 180 even though the actual temperature is much more. Since I have 2 ls1 996s I can verify this with the scan tool hooked up to the ls1 ecu while the 996 sender is piggybacked on the the ls1.
Regardless this should be looked into and make sure this switch isn’t a bandaid fix, to a fan or other problem. If it just adds manual control of working fans you can turn it on around town on hot days in traffic.

Last edited by cdk4219; 02-06-2021 at 08:23 AM.
Old 02-06-2021, 09:02 AM
Mike1999
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by cdk4219