996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

FSI/RND/LN Engine Durability/Longevity?

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2023, 10:27 PM
TT Oversteer
Racer

Received 22 Likes on 12 Posts
Default FSI/RND/LN Engine Durability/Longevity?

It would seem the consensus is the Raby/Navarro combo is the Gold Standard for M96 engines. I have no experience with either and no reason to doubt their products, services and engineering prowess. I am curious, however; how many have run these engines well past 100k miles and what has been your experience? Much ado has been made about the fragile M96 time bomb with its “service item” IMS bearing and fragile scoring-prone cylinders but my example has done 115k miles with its original IMS bearing and only trace precursor bore scoring. How long will it run before it grenades? Only time will tell…

So when I debate opening my wallet to alleviate the sleepless nights and cold sweats of M96 anxiety I have to ask: “what am I buying?” With my tens of thousands of dollars? By the vendors’ own admission the $800 IMS Retrofit is a 50k mile life limited part. The only real “solution” is the $1,800 IMS Solution. How long do Nickies and J&E pistons last? There’s no such thing as forever when it comes to machines.

So I ask those with experience: How many have run these engines well past 100k and beyond? Are there any known failures of these parts and processes? It’s understood usage and maintenance practices are a huge part of the equation. For those who have progressed past Denial, Acceptance, and Writing the Check, how are you all sleeping at night?
Old 01-23-2023, 11:22 PM
EVOMMM
Rennlist Member

Received 1,557 Likes on 917 Posts

Wait till it goes pop if the car is worth it to you then fix it to what you can afford
I have a 99 with 103k when it goes pop I’ll cry
but value before and after is my only factoring
Old 01-24-2023, 12:32 AM
TT Oversteer
Racer

Received 22 Likes on 12 Posts

Originally Posted by EVOMMM