Sponsored by:

Revisited: Prefill oil filter

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2023, 01:08 PM
hbdunn
Burning Brakes

Received 698 Likes on 375 Posts
Default Revisited: Prefill oil filter

I believe Jake and Charles recommend not prefilling, which I have never done. Lake claims in his Porsche engine there was no bearing material after prefilled and that previous changes without prefill there was. Starts talking about this at 6:30.

Old 11-09-2023, 07:12 PM
Icelia
Instructor

Received 170 Likes on 84 Posts

Bullshlt... The filter is full every time you start the car. The oil is perfectly clean out of the bottle. Certainly cleaner than it is at 5k miles. I don't have to watch a video to know that what I have been doing for 25 years and hundreds of oil changes (pre-filling the filter) is the right way. Not going to waste my time on this pointless question. Why am I wasting my time even answering?
The following users liked this post:
igrip (11-16-2023)
Old 11-09-2023, 09:12 PM
zbomb
Race Car

Received 4,277 Likes on 1,807 Posts

I have pre filled my filters on every oil change it was possible to do so since I was a kid. The M96 when the spin on adapter went on, the dry sump system in the car now, all the families various DD's... all of them.

Brad, maybe you could do an experiment and log the time it takes to build oil pressure after an oil change with both a pre filled filter and non pre filled and see what it says.
Old 11-09-2023, 09:36 PM
Icelia
Instructor

There is a drainback valve built into good filters precisely so you DON'T have an empty filter when you start the car each time.