Sponsored by:

Good DE/Autocross or School in Mid-Atlantic

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2011, 10:16 PM
Peter 642
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Good DE/Autocross or School in Mid-Atlantic

Ok, here's the thing. As ya'll know, I'm a complete noob, say dumb things and ask dumb questions. I admit it fully. Also realize I drive my car like garbage; I don't shift at the right time and I'm a mess with the clutch. I'm not a native manual driver, so this is school of expensive knocks for me. I'm being honest here, puttin' myself out there.

I do however drink good beer, as I am currently enjoying a small-batch porter from Maine.

I'm looking for a "school" or autocross/DE in the mid-Atlantic or East Coast/Northeast. Of course I'm a PCA member locally, but the thought of changing all fluids; new tires; lines flushed/etc makes me run away (sorry, being honest again) and I'm looking to learn to drive, not race (although perhaps with the latter comes the former).

Any advice, noobish or otherwise, would be appreciated. I'm looking for good 1-2 day schools that will teach me to drive my car. Curious if you've had the experience of a pro course (non-PCA) or whether I suck it up, do my autocross and DE locally, and just get my car in shape.

That or head to Alabama for the Porsche Sport Driving School....
Old 04-26-2011, 10:31 PM
racer
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

1) Evolution Autocross school is the the best you can likely find. ( http://www.evoschool.com/ )

You don't say where in the NE/East you are located.. and that would be helpful. Lots of ACTIVE PCA regions with strong AX programs (NER/NCR, CVR, Metro NY, NNJR etc. )

2) PCA AX events do NOT require a full TECH inspection.. Show up with some extra air in your tires and pay to enter. Done. Nothing special. In fact, same is true for almost all AX clubs, even SCCA. Worst thing they might find, if a at event techline is evident, is something WRONG with your car