996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

Can I drive a 911 for 7 years for $44K?

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2013, 11:45 PM
rotaryjunky
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can I drive a 911 for 7 years for $44K?

I am sorry that this is a lame question, but I have been teaching for 18 years and still earn in the 40's. I have to be very careful not to get in over my head. That said, I already have a 04 accord (winter beater), 93 civic (200hp, summer car), 94 NSX, and 91 miata (turbo, etc..). The civic is great fun (even better at the track) but a little embarrassing for a 42 year old. So I want a four seater that is gorgeous and phenomenal to drive. Is it even possible to buy and maintain a 996 911 for seven years (figure about 6K miles a year) for a total of $44K? Not including insurance, of course. I can do basic repairs myself and have access to lifts and capable buddies for engine and transaxle removal. What do you think?
Old 03-04-2013, 11:46 PM
rotaryjunky
Track Day

My kids are always with me, so I very rarely drive the NSX or miata.
Old 03-04-2013, 11:55 PM
KrazyK
Drifting

Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts

#1. There are no "basic" repairs on a Porsche.

#2. A replacement engine is $20,000.

#3. Porsche dealers charge $100+ for labor.

#4. Your joking, right?

I suppose you could, if you give your kids away, dont, eat, and live in a tent. If your a good DIY'er maybe you could. Unfortunately these cars are VERY expensive to own. Buying one is the easy part.

Im just kidding about #4 but not #1 thru #3.

I too am a public servant so I get where your coming from.
Old 03-04-2013, 11:58 PM
911 Crazy
SPAM addict
Rennlist Member

Received 20 Likes on 18 Posts

20k for the car then 3k+ per year for maintenance. I'd say yes.
Old 03-05-2013, 12:14 AM
street rod
Drifting

Received 222 Likes on 167 Posts

Originally Posted by 911 Crazy
20k for the car then 3k+ per year for maintenance. I'd say yes.
+1
Old 03-05-2013, 12:31 AM
Imo000
Captain Obvious
Super User