Notices
996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

996 Oil Changes - Porsche Dealer or Not?

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2016, 11:15 PM
James McGrath
Advanced

Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default 996 Oil Changes - Porsche Dealer or Not?

Hey folks. I just got an oil change at my local Porsche dealership which cost $240 for the oil, oil filter and labor inclusive. Is that about right?

I'm a new Porsche owner, I own a 2002 911/966 C4 and I'm still learning about the dos and don'ts of maintenance.

Do I have to take my 911 into a Porsche dealership for oil changes or would taking it to a regular auto-shop be ok? Anyone have any strong opinions either way or experience with the latter? Thanks!
Old 09-22-2016, 11:26 PM
charlieaf92
Rennlist Member

Received 96 Likes on 52 Posts

That doesn't sound unreasonable. The 996 takes full synthetic oil, and a lot of it! You'll save quite a bit doing it yourself though.

To answer your second question I would either take it to a dealer, or do it yourself using a high quality oil. If an indy shop is around that specializes in Porsches, that could work too but I'd talk to some local owners and get their input. There are countless threads on here about the right oil to use, and an even greater number of opinions.

From my reading everyone seems to agree that the 15k mile service interval is too long and recommend doing it every 5k miles.

It is recommended your replace the oil plug washer with each oil change - something I doubt any non dealer or Porsche shop would know and/or stock.

By the way, welcome to the site and the Porsche owners club!
Old 09-22-2016, 11:34 PM
James McGrath
Advanced

Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts

Thanks Charlieaf92, this is really helpful. I appreciate your response!! Cheers.
Old 09-23-2016, 12:50 AM
JayG
Three Wheelin'

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

Changing oil is one of the easiest DIYs you can do

Depending On what oil you use, you are looking at $60 to $140 for oil and filter
Old 09-23-2016, 05:28 AM
Cuda911