Sponsored by:

My first track day in the turbo

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2020, 09:35 PM
Muskoka
Burning Brakes

Received 117 Likes on 88 Posts
Default My first track day in the turbo

Just did my first, real track session in the turbo. Super fun. The car is so much more planted than other cars I've driven on the track (fist, c63 amg). Went with a few buddies who ranged from complete newbies to a distant connection who had a very successful race career.

I couldn't be happier with the suspension, as I recent upgraded to ohlin road and tracks. The car was really composed on a track which, frankly, isn't in great condition.

However, I did have two concerns:
1) at the end of the day, it got really difficult to get the car into second on heavy braking. I'm assuming this has something to do with my 18 year old motor mounts and tyranny mounts.
2) I could only boost 0.4/0.5 bar. I just replaced the MAf, and I'm still throwing the PASM and ABS lights occasionally (no CEL). So... I have no idea on this one. I've heard it's heat soak going into limp mode. Or a check valve issue. I'll have to boost leak test, but I doubt it. A leak of that size, I think I'd hear at WOT with the windows down.

Anyways, fun day, but wish the car ran strong all day. If anyone has experience with the above, let me know.
Old 09-26-2020, 01:00 PM
Capt. Obvious
Rennlist Member

Received 1,428 Likes on 784 Posts

I recently replaced the original engine mounts with 964 RS units and upgraded the trans mount to a 997 piece and it made a night and day difference in the shifting and smoothness of my car.

As for the low boost, definitely start with checking for codes and a boost leak test before you start throwing money at things. Those should always be the first things you do when diagnosing an issue with these cars.
The following users liked this post:
Giovanni (10-25-2020)
Old 09-26-2020, 01:25 PM
theprf
Drifting

Received 1,648 Likes on 1,047 Posts

Which track did you run?