Notices
996 Turbo Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What mods ,if any ,pay back much on resale?

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2020, 12:38 PM
johnsjmc
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default What mods ,if any ,pay back much on resale?

Long time 911 owner recently purchased a 2003 996 turbo.. one owner,(bank vp) dealer serviced 50k miles. Absolutely stock 6 speed.
I've never been able to resist modifying most of my cars. Which mods if any will pay back the most on eventual resale. I expect a clutch in the future because of miles and will likely use a 764 pressure plate but stay with dual mass ff.. A new clutch is usually a good selling feature, lwfw not so much.I was going to drop the engine and pin the lines while in there.
I am a retired tech so labor isn't the issue.
I'm considering a suspension refresh ,will pss10 coilovers return anything or lower the cars value?
or just try to keep it dead stock?

Last edited by johnsjmc; 10-26-2020 at 01:28 PM.
Old 10-05-2020, 12:47 PM
wross996tt
Race Car

Received 82 Likes on 61 Posts

Congrats on your purchase. Did you buy this to re-sell it or own it and drive it? If the first, leave it stock. If you actually intend to own and drive it, mod away...
Old 10-05-2020, 01:12 PM
johnsjmc
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I bought it to own and drive it, but with an eye to eventual resale.I've already changed the motor mounts to 993 rs style. Probably will do 350 mm brake rotors when needed and 764 clutch with pinned lines. All these mods are relatively the same cost as stock replacement .
Old 10-05-2020, 01:27 PM
Capt. Obvious
Rennlist Member

Received 1,428 Likes on 784 Posts

As I'm sure you are aware, mods rarely increase the value of a car. However, there are a handful of mods to these cars that are usually considered desirable and may make the car more attractive to a decently large segment of buyers.

- Suspension
- Exhaust
- Tune