Notices
996 Turbo Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2002 996 TT normal engine rattle or not so normal?

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2011, 10:33 PM
innovator
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 996 TT normal engine rattle or not so normal?

Hello gentlemen.

I posted this on the 996 forum, but then realized that there was a 996 turbo forum. I got some great replies but I'm still looking for some more input, as I still am uncertain if the noise is normal. I understand that the turbo does not have common IMS issues, but I am concerned something may not be right.

I just picked up a 2002 996tt with 10,000 miles on it. I traded in my 2003 Audi RS6. All seems well, except that after warmed up, I hear a rattle coming from underneath the engine. I am an Audi tech, and I hear engine noises all the time, but this has me a little nervous. I know these engines aren't silent, but it seems a little loud to be normal? I may have been a little to over-zealous when I picked up the car, and overlooked it...

I read about the IMS shaft issues, and the only way I can describe this noise is like a rat,rat,rat,rat.... Seems to get worse when the engine is hot, but diminishes when the engine is reved over 1000 rpm. Depressing the clutch makes no difference.

Thank-you Rick

Last edited by innovator; 08-28-2011 at 10:51 PM.
Old 08-28-2011, 10:49 PM
jcb-memphis
Rennlist Member

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

Lightweight flywheel perhaps? <- if clutch pedal changes the noise....

If not, IMS. Likely normal. I have just grown to accept the noise.

Cannot hear mine over the exhaust and lwfw. Sorry, I misread your post....I am not off my rocker quite yet...not likely lwfw....just the normal stuff.

Enjoy your new car. T2 has something like 200 or 300k on his with 5k mile 0w-40 changes....so these cars can take it.. .he tracks his car. I use 5w50 and feel it and the dreaded turbo diesel 5w-40 M1 oils are fine. Have heard good things about elf too.