Jumping In: New to Me 2002 TT "Apollo"

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2014, 06:16 PM
cbracerx
Rennlist Member

Received 386 Likes on 249 Posts
Default Jumping In: New to Me 2002 TT "Apollo"

Greetings All,

Last Friday I became the proud owner of an Artic Silver over Black 2002 996 TT with 16,800 miles. Mostly stock (compared to my past Porsches) this is a long time "Dream Car" for me. I'm sure that resonates with some of you.

Many have come before this Porsche in my 25 years in the hobby, even a Twin Turbo (955) and four 951 single turbos (2 '86, 88S and '86 PCA Stock Class Racecar). And many 911s (75, 73, 87, 91, 96). Even the odd mid engine Porsche ( '71 914, '06 987 Cayman S). My last Porsche recently sold from This Listing. I've been a HPDE instructor for 23 years, did PCA racing when it first started and also raced enduros karts and SCCA FC.

I like modifying the cars, driving on the track and just driving around in German cars. I started with a 69 Beetle and the rest is history

The 2002 I purchased was from a dealer, which is a fairly rare purchase for me when it comes to Porsches. I tend to buy higher mileage, mostly stock examples and then spend far too much time and money making them "better." In this case, I bought a low mileage, lightly modified car. The plan was to buy a high mileage, highly modified car, but I just could not bring myself to spend a significant sum on a car with over 60K miles. Yes, I'm aware of the legendary durability of the engine in this car, but I still wanted something with less miles. Almost got a Tiptronic, but in the end I have a 6 speed.

In my search I met several excellent p-car enthusiasts and I appreciate all the help they gave me in learning more about the cars.

Exterior Color: L92U –Artic Silver Metallic
Interior Code: AH – Black Leather
Option Codes:
C02 – USA Car
139 – Heat Seating - Left
340 – Heat Seating - Right
513 – Lumbar Support – Right Seat
586 – Lumbar Support – Left Seat
692 – Remote CD Changer (6 Disk)