Can't start up a 997.1

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2019, 11:15 PM
Hawkaloogie
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can't start up a 997.1

Hi everyone, need a little assistance.
I'm a tech at a shop that specializes in Porsche, but this has us all at a loss, so I'm here humbling asking for any assistance in the right direction.

The car starts only if the battery is disconnected for some time. Other than that, the car doesn’t even crank.
DME has been replaced
PAS has been replaced
Starter has been replaced
Ignition switch has been replaced
Clutch switch has been bypassed
Battery is new, both in car and key fob
All ground cables are good
Gateway is good
Additionally: When the car is on, the DME reads. But if it isn’t on, then PIWIS can’t communicate with it.
Thank you in advance for any help. If there is already a thread on this and I didn't find it, I'm sorry for starting a new one.
Old 11-14-2019, 12:00 AM
snaphappy
Pro

Received 91 Likes on 59 Posts

There are much smarter people on here, but I’d put in a different battery, just to see what happens. Another guy recently had a similar problem - literally brand new battery - and the car wouldn’t start. His new battery turned out to be a dud.
Old 11-14-2019, 12:05 AM
Hawkaloogie
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by snaphappy
There are much smarter people on here, but I’d put in a different battery, just to see what happens. Another guy recently had a similar problem - literally brand new battery - and the car wouldn’t start. His new battery turned out to be a dud.
We have it on a battery charger set on flash mode during programming. I would assume the charger voltage would override the faulty battery. But I'm at a loss and we do have extra batteries in the shop, so i'll give it a shot.
Old 11-14-2019, 12:19 AM
BaileyII
Rennlist Member

Received 133 Likes on 91 Posts

I had to replace my voltage regulator on mine last year. I do not know if this related.
Old 11-14-2019, 12:51 AM