Sponsored by:

my 997 value story

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2021, 06:35 PM
Saaboteur
Burning Brakes

Received 96 Likes on 60 Posts
Default my 997 value story

So what with the trend of 997 values increasing recently, I have had an opportunity to reflect on my car, and life/work in general as well. I bought my 06 C4S in September 2014, with about 62,000km on it at the time. My diary thread for the car is in my signature. It's now about 93,000km in mileage. Loved every minute of driving it. I paid about C$60k for it, perhaps slightly more than market at the time because it was from Weissach Performance in Vancouver, not a private sale. No worries, I was attracted to the car because of the colour (similar to my old Edwardian Grey Saab 900 Turbo SPG) and X51. I paid cash after selling my 2001 Honda S2000 in the spring of 2014, and then had cash on hand after settling a contingency file (I'm a lawyer, please don't hold it against me lol). Anyway, I've always felt that cars should be driven, and fully anticipated that I was buying an car that would depreciate in value, just like every other car I've owned. I follow Magnus Walker's ethos - 'get out and drive' - and no worries about rock chips or mileage.