Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Track tires...yes another forum!

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2022, 10:37 PM
997 at 275
Rennlist Member

Received 44 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Track tires...yes another forum!

Hello

I have a 997.1 C4S that I finaly put on Lime Rock, this past weekend. I have some experience on a PCA track days at Watkins Glen , with my former 2001 Viper, which was a blast, however, the 911 is "the car" . You feel like one with the car. I had a great friend who races vintage class, with a 240Z and a 69 Corvette, get in the car, for the last session of day one ( he was late to the track otherwise would have been the first!). He gave me some great pointers about some of my mistakes and it improved my time as well as the car was not being as bound up, felt better over all. I am a beginner/novice and don't claim to be good, but am improving. I have P4S's on it, running 40 front/44 rear, stock sizes. Car has B16's all around, ran PASM active, aligned, some addition neg rear camber and scaled and balanced at 50.9% cross balance. I ran with a hard top and am a manual trans and have a FSI R40 under the boot for power. The car runs great, great power. My friend Glen said the tires feel "pretty good" for my driving and they wore faily well. I did not heat gun them but they felt HOT Now..I have BBS's on it now, stock offset and dia, so I have my old "Lobster" wheels that I want to mount "track tires" that I will not run on the street, could but prob will not...What have you guys run that you like, for wear, cost, etc. I want to have the best tire I can run for the best times, that will give me some more confidence( which I fell I need). I want to run Thompson and the Glen next, will do Lime Rock later this year. Thanks
Old 06-05-2022, 10:49 PM
Sporty
Rennlist Member

Received 443 Likes on 284 Posts

You had me at "a manual trans and have a FSI R40 under the boot for power" . Did you say say something about tires or wheels?
Old 06-05-2022, 10:53 PM
997 at 275