Sponsored by:

997.1 C2 - let's talk exhausts

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2024, 12:21 PM
smrpr
Instructor

Received 180 Likes on 75 Posts
Default 997.1 C2 - let's talk exhausts

Apologies in advance as I understand this topic has been discussed to death, but I'm new to the Porsche world and their exhausts are nothing like the front engine cars I've had until now, and I haven't found any thread specific to my case.

This week I've watched tons of exhaust videos, checked a lot of fabricators and I am still undecided. I understand that YT videos don't do these exhausts justice, but it's the closest thing I've got. I also live in Europe, so getting some brands shipped here (such as Fabspeed) is really expensive.

I have a 997.1 Carrera (no PSE) with a rusty stock exhaust, so I planned to replace everything down the road (see this: https://rennlist.com/forums/997-foru...at-to-fix.html)

Living in Europe also means that I would need an exhaust with TÜV approval or something similar. It also needs to pass emissions, so sadly no de-cat.

The sounds I've liked more are the ones from these videos:

I don't need it to be valved as long as it sounds good and there's no drone.

From those two videos, I think I could get:

- Equal length headers (no need to get the X51 as these should flow better, right?)
- 200 cell cat pipes (doubting on x-pipe or crossover)
- What about the mufflers? Do you think my OEM ones can be saved? If not, do I need sport mufflers (are they different to the stock ones?) I understand Fister/Gundo modify these but still, not sure if I'd be able to get the sound I want from the stock ones or I need the S / sport mufflers

I don't want to lose the flat six sound. I've heard Cargraphic, FVD, Fabspeed, Tubi... these all sound good in their own way, but still, the sound from that Fister video (the cold start one) is intoxicating to me. I'm happy to mix and match the parts I need to get it, and I am open to all options.