Sponsored by:

997 Engine?

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2007, 12:40 PM
KeithR3
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 997 Engine?

NooB here in the 997 world. Is the 997 engine as bullet proof as the 993 engine? I'm interested in a 997S, high miles ok but want to be sure that the 997 or 996 is as reliable as the 993. Again I am a noob.
Old 07-13-2007, 01:35 PM
User 4621
Race Director

Received 614 Likes on 326 Posts

Short answer is that the 993 engine is based on a sturdier block than the 997.

How much the engine block actually impacts the overall reliability of the car is open to debate.

997 has far more gizmos and electronic doo-dads that I would be more worried about.

OTOH, if I'm not mistaken a whole new 997 engine costs about the same as rebuilding a 993 engine.

997's are also still under warranty so sorting out any issues should be free.

I've owned both although the 997 for just a few weeks. So far, I love them both and you probably can't go wrong either way.
Old 07-13-2007, 01:41 PM
KeithR3
Pro

Pete,

Thank you for the response. I always read how indestructable a 993 engine is and wondered if the 997 is just as indestructable. I don't read too many 997's w/high miles like the 993. Thanks again!
Old 07-13-2007, 01:48 PM
dstrimbu
Burning Brakes

Well, Keith - the 993 has been on the road for a lot longer...

The 997, if not abused, should last as long as the aircooled 993 - if not longer. Thermal stresses on the engine are lower (bc heat distribution is more even), cooling is more efficient, and of course, the engine electronics are several orders of magnitude more modern.

It's my humble (semi-noob) opinion that the "best" Porsche is the one with a factory warranty.

That being said, I still want a 993 to compliment my 997S. <g>

Good luck!

-don
Old 07-13-2007, 03:35 PM
H20NOO
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts