Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Best exhaust while still sounding like a Porsche?

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2008, 12:58 AM
vizman
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best exhaust while still sounding like a Porsche?

Im considering installing a new exhaust on my 07 997S. Performance is as important as sound so I have eliminated Tubi because 1. it does not sound like a Porsche (from what Ive gathered from the boards) 2. was not made to work with aftermarket cats. Ive strongly considered AWE, but recently started looking into Europipe as an alternative. Anyone have any experience with Europipe or AWE that could chime in any information to help make my decision? Any other piece of information that could help will be greatly appreciated as I am new to Porsches in general.
Old 06-10-2008, 01:13 AM
mdrums
Race Director

Received 179 Likes on 126 Posts

Best sounding...Porsche Sport Exhaust also known as PSE. I have Fabspeed mufflers because they are light in weight, sound good and most like a Cup car at 5000rpm and up. I have heard Tubi and AWE but picked Fabspeed. I have not heard the Europipe and Cargraphic systems.
The following 2 users liked this post by mdrums:
997.1C2S (04-23-2022), Fabspeed Motorsport (10-28-2020)
Old 06-10-2008, 01:28 AM
Vitamin_J
Rennlist Member

I went with the bypass. I agree it doesn't sound like a modern Porsche but a whole bunch like my 930 from years ago. Pretty muscular and I have lost the ability to talk on a cell phone with the targa open at 3k rpm.

I had a Tubi on the Ferrari and it was absolute music. Trying to find the balance of improved sound while remaining Porschesqe is tough. I agree with mdrums that PSE is pretty compelling yet personally feel it is understated.
Old 06-10-2008, 09:42 AM
Mr. Brown
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default BORLA

Originally Posted by vizman