Sponsored by:

High Speed Handling Issue...

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2008, 07:57 PM
GNALUZU
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post High Speed Handling Issue...

Earlier this month I took the Turbo Cab on an overnight trip on some back roads. My wife and I did about 500 miles over the two days.

I have noticed that the handling at higher speeds was not as firm as I thought it would be. The front end felt extremely light and the car almost felt unstable at those higher speeds.

Now, for point of reference, I have had the majority of my high speed experiences in front engine cars. I am a HPDE instructor with Club Racing Arizona & BMW CCA, so I am pretty familiar with how front engine cars handle. Is it me? Am I just used to having all of the engine weight over the front of the car and that is resulting in the different feel?

I haven't had a ton of experience with rear engine cars. Do any of you feel that the front end gets a little loose at higher speeds? I have read posts about people using different alignment settings and that the factory settings, for lack of a better word, suck.

If that is the case, can someone post some settings that I can have the car adjusted to?

This car won't be used on the track, but I would like it to feel more stable (if that is possible).

Thanks,

Adam
Old 04-29-2008, 06:45 AM
SimonK
Burning Brakes

That's the way 911's are. You will get used to the light front. Top speed runs are always a bit floaty in 911's but just trust it, it is planted enough.
Old 04-29-2008, 10:16 AM
texas911
Race Car

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Sounds like typical 911 dynamics to me. You get used to it.
Old 04-29-2008, 12:44 PM
AAHTT
Racer

Originally Posted by GNALUZU
Earlier this month I took the Turbo Cab on an overnight trip on some back roads. My wife and I did about 500 miles over the two days.