Sponsored by:

Replacement Speaker Options?

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2004, 10:49 PM
cbracer
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacement Speaker Options?

I have the basic sound system with 2 speakers in the front. It's time to do something decent, but not expensive. I'm not a stereo expert but am an engineer and understand some things about sound/power/wiring. From my research in the archives here are my choices,

Rear Speakers
--MB Quartz only makes 4" so the Eclipse seem to be the best choice for 3.5"? I'm guessing I should use just one per side? These should be mid-range with no tweeter?

Door Speakers
--I need something that will fit in the narrow depth of the stock door panels? any suggestions? These should be 6.5" designed for bass?

Front Speakers
--So 4" with 1" tweeter is the biggest that fit? MB Quartz is what I'm leaning towards though not their high end stuff but the cheaper stuff. Their 210 has a crossover.

AMP
--I would have thought 18watts if fine for me, I don't drive with loud sound but I want good sound..... however it seems most of these speakers need more umph to drive them? So do I need to find a 6 channel 996 amp? Can I stick it under the passenger seat?

Crossovers
--Do I need anything to limit only bass Hz going to the door speakers?

I'm not looking at a subwoofer because I don't like loosing footwell area for the passenger.

thanks,
--christopher
Old 11-15-2004, 02:41 PM
okbarnett
Drifting

Received 48 Likes on 38 Posts

I suppose you have the same as a 996 grill. It will hold a 4" and 1.5" set up, if you cut it apart and remount the speakers to the plastic grill yourself. it is not direct fitment. Your door may hold a 5.5 to 6 (I'm not sure how yours looks.) . I suggest Boston Acoustics Pro 4.5 system for the dash, and maybe squeeze 5.5 or 6.5 in the doors. Or the 6.5 three way system that gives you a 6.5 woofer and the 4.5 as the mid and hi, with a 3way xover.