Sponsored by:

Factory Stereo Q's

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2007, 11:09 PM
tah
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Factory Stereo Q's

Looks like I'll be getting back into the Porsche game. Looking at 2001 ~ 03 Boxster S's and have a question.

A lot of the lisitngs I see list a cassette player. Is this right? Not a CD on this quality car?

Thanks in advance...........
Old 07-13-2007, 12:06 AM
artandscience
Track Day

Default CD/cassette

I believe the 220 head unit is a CD and the earlier ones came with a 210 (this is prior to the conversion to fibre optics) which was cassette.

I _think_ that's right. Having just bought a 2001 last week, I'm still learning.

cheers,
S.
Old 07-13-2007, 01:24 AM
Tierce
Pro

I have a 2000 S with the 220 (cd player, no cassette). You should only be able to get the cassette if you request it when buying new.
Old 07-13-2007, 04:10 AM
mreric
Advanced

presonally I would not go with the factory CD player, but instead use an aftermarket. I pulled my CDR220 out because I did not like it. replaced the headunit and it made a big difference in sound quality. still not good, but more like marginally acceptable; with the top down can't hear much on the interstate anyway...
Old 07-13-2007, 08:56 AM
First986NJ
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Replacing the HU improves the sound, yes, but the stock paper cone drivers are crap too, and the M490 amp is both poor quality and underpowered for a cabrio. If you don't replace the drivers and the HU, at a minimum, don't expect much in the way of sound quality or volume with the top down.

For under $1000 you can replace the HU, Amp and speakers if you shop around and watch places like Crutchfield.com and woofersetc.com for deals. The sound quality will be hugely improved, and you can hear your tunes crisp and clear even while tooling down I80 at 95 mph.