Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How to clean brake rotors?

Old 09-01-2010, 10:40 AM
espooner
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to clean brake rotors?

On my '02 Boxster S, I have Pagid Orange pads for the track. After 3 days at Watkins Glen, there was a severe pulsation on braking, which appears to be due to pad build-up on the rotors, according to knowledgeable people at the track. There was a fair amount of pad material plugging the cross-drilled holes, which I drilled out, so I think this theory is quite probable.

My question is how do I best clean the rotors? One friend suggested brake cleaning fluid and a Scotch-Brite pad and lots of elbow grease. What has worked for others? How do you clean the INSIDE surface of the rotor (toward the centerline of the car)? I'm a fairly proficient DIY mechanic, but don't want to pull the rotors off, again, just for cleaning.

Any helpful hints would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Old 09-01-2010, 11:13 AM
mavthenav
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The pad material is a symptom of being on the brake and acellerator at the same time, once these are clogged you have no place for the compressed air between the pads and the rotors to escape and thus your pulsating. Between each session you should use a air hose to blow most of it out, what doesn't blow out poke with a screwdriver and it will pop out.
Old 09-01-2010, 11:20 AM
RollingArt
Drifting

Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts

Brake clean and scotch-brite here also. I would do this regularly on my road racing motos. Works good.

Phil
Old 09-01-2010, 09:45 PM
Renn 951
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by mavthenav