Sponsored by:

2012 Cayenne digital speedometer is off

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2012, 01:18 AM
JakarM
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2012 Cayenne digital speedometer is off

Hello y'all! I'm new to this so I'm still trying to get the hang of this.

I bought a Cayenne in last September and I noticed about 2 months ago that the digital speedometer is kinda off, like if I'm going 30, it will say 33. I checked it with the neighborhood speed meter- both my other cars had no problems. Anyone else have this issue or is it just me? Also, when the car is idling, I feel like the whole car vibrates after idling for awhile? I'm bringing it to the shop next week, but still there's that nagging itch that wants to know. Other than that, i love my pepper!

Any info/ experiences is much appreciated!
Old 01-08-2012, 02:11 AM
daddyscar
Rennlist Member

Received 105 Likes on 62 Posts

I think this is normal. Check out this article . . . http://www.caranddriver.com/features...ometer-scandal

. . . here's the executive summary 3rd and 2nd from the last paragraph . . .

The European regulation, ECE-R 39, is more concise, stating essentially that the speed indicated must never be lower than the true speed or higher by more than one-tenth of true speed plus four kilometers per hour (79.5 mph at a true 70). Never low. Not even if somebody swaps a big set of 285/35R-18s for stock 255/45R-16s.