Sponsored By:

Electric Trailer Brake Controld Signal Problem

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2020, 07:46 AM
samluke
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Electric Trailer Brake Controld Signal Problem

Firstly, I apologize if this has been covered, but I can’t find an answer.

The car is a 2011 Cayenne GTS, without the tow option.

I have installed the VW adapter plug, and am using a Prodigy P3 electric brake controller, I also included the relay.

The Prodigy is working, and I can get trailer braking if I use the override, but I am not getting a braking signal from the car. I am not using a Porsche trailer brake control module.

i have monitored the brake signal coming from the car, and I am not seeing any change when the pedal is pressed.

Does this signal have to be enabled in software?
What is the signal voltage?

Any ideas much appreciated.
Old 07-17-2020, 04:51 AM
GrandPaJohn
Pro

Received 129 Likes on 84 Posts

I'm no expert on this but I'll give it a shot. I tow and have the Prodogy P3 as well. When you say you use the override, are you talking about the manual brake lever on the P3? That would be the only way to get a voltage reading while stationary. The P3 doesn't send any current until it senses the vehicle braking so you'd have to be moving to read it. And I believe the voltage increases as braking increases which increases the braking at the trailer. What that range is I don't know.
Old 07-21-2020, 08:07 PM
samluke
Burning Brakes

Thanks,

Yes if I use the manual override lever on the P3 I get full braking on the trailer. So the braking circuit is hooked up to the trailer.

But I would expect the brake sense signal from the cayenne to signal braking with the brake pedal depressed, otherwise there is no need for that circuit and the relay. Perhaps the car has to be in motion for the signal to change. I may have to do a moving test.

Old 07-21-2020, 09:59 PM
GrandPaJohn
Pro

Received 129 Likes on 84 Posts

Originally Posted by samluke