Sponsored By:

Trailer Harness Plug?

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2022, 05:50 PM
Kigiin
Rennlist Member

Received 688 Likes on 382 Posts
Default Trailer Harness Plug?

I need to tow something and have never really towed much of anything before and never with the Cayenne. I have an OEM tow package but don't understand the trailer harness plug. I unscrewed the 4 screws (which should have been stainless steel but weren't) and see the wires but don't know how to undo the cover from the plug itself - any help would be appreciated?
Old 10-04-2022, 07:12 PM
ShdwFx
Rennlist Member

Received 218 Likes on 158 Posts

I went thru this last year when I was a noob to towing. You'll first need to remove the blank face plate - there's a small tab where you can insert a small flathead screwdriver to release the plate. From there you can buy yourself a
Pollak 7-way socket Pollak 7-way socket
which was recommended to me by other Rennlisters. I did my first tow with a small U-Haul which in turn required a
4-wire harness adapter 4-wire harness adapter
to plug into the Pollak and everything worked perfectly.
Old 10-04-2022, 07:19 PM
Kigiin
Rennlist Member

Received 688 Likes on 382 Posts

Originally Posted by ShdwFx
I went thru this last year when I was a noob to towing. You'll first need to remove the blank face plate - there's a small tab where you can insert a small flathead screwdriver to release the plate. From there you can buy yourself a Pollak 7-way socket which was recommended to me by other Rennlisters. I did my first tow with a small U-Haul which in turn required a 4-wire harness adapter to plug into the Pollak and everything worked perfectly.
Oh, I just assumed if I could get that face plate off I was good to go with whatever plug was on it. Wonder why Porsche didn't put a flap door face plate like that on it. Have no idea if I need an adapter or not.
Old 10-05-2022, 10:39 PM
Kris Murphy
Rennlist Member

Received 181 Likes on 113 Posts

Originally Posted by Kigiin